modern music making . . .

Karen Power カレン・パワー

録音のサンプルを聞くにはタイトルをクリックして下さい /
please click on the titles to hear the music samples

CF3 : is it raining while you listen (2011) for flute, violin, piano trio
old fashioned chocolate fondue fountain (2006) for violin and piano duo

Karen Power

アイルランド作曲家連盟(AIC)、現代音楽振興会(SPNM)、国際女性音楽連盟(IWMA)、エレクトロアコースティック音楽協会(SEAMUS)メンバー。また、 ICC(アイルランド作曲家コレクティブ)にも以前在籍していた。

Karen Power is an Irish composer who writes primarily for acoustic and electroacoustic forces. Her initial interest in composition came during her undergraduate degree in University College Cork (UCC), where she familiarised herself with as many musical styles as were on offer while developing a compositional language with ‘post-minimalist’ influences.
In 2009 she completed a PhD in acoustic and electroacoustic composition at SARC (Sonic Arts Research Centre), Belfast, with Prof. Michael Alcorn. Throughout her PhD, Karen’s works focused on the commonalities and individualities of both acoustic and electroacoustic composition aiming to develop a more integrated language, which acknowledges and utilizes such strengths.
Recently Karen has spent time in residency at The Banff Centre, Canada, The Guesthouse, Ireland and was a composer fellow at UCDavis, California, USA. Karen has written pieces for Alarm Will Sound, SCAW, Carin Levine, the Ulster Orchestra, Kate Ellis, Mmm Trio and Quiet Music Ensemble. She has been awarded national and international awards and honorary mentions for her work and has represented Ireland internationally on a number of occasions. Karen’s compositional interests are constantly shifting, transforming and re-shaping, with current projects including a sound and movement collaborative work and a video and sound collaboration.
Karen Power is an active member of the AIC (Association of Irish Composers) the SPNM (Society for the Promotion of New Music), the IAWM (International Alliance for Women in Music), SEAMUS (Society for Electro Acoustic Music in the US) and a founding member of the ICC (Irish Composer’s Collective).